Instagram DM Limits in 2026: Every Number, and Where It Comes From
Instagram's DM limits are the most confidently misquoted numbers in creator marketing. Search the term and you find daily caps, hourly caps and character counts stated as fact with no source attached — and pages ranking today that contradict each other by a factor of two. If you are setting up comment-to-DM automation, only one of those columns is worth designing around, so every figure below is labelled published (it appears in Meta's own documentation, with the link) or undocumented (it does not, whatever anyone says).
In two sentences: Meta publishes five Instagram messaging rate limits, all per professional account, and none is a daily DM cap. Its API caps message text at 1,000 bytes, but it publishes no manual sending limit and no hourly DM figure — the numbers you have seen for those are estimates, not rules.
The five Instagram DM rate limits Meta publishes
These are the messaging rate limits on Meta's Instagram Platform overview, per Instagram professional account. They govern API calls made by an app connected to your account — not what you type by hand.
| Endpoint | Published limit | Applies to |
|---|---|---|
| Private Replies API | 750 calls per hour | Replies to comments on posts, ads and Reels |
| Private Replies API | 100 calls per second | Replies to comments on Instagram Live |
| Send API | 100 calls per second | Text, links, reactions, stickers |
| Send API | 10 calls per second | Audio and video content |
| Conversations API | 2 calls per second | Reading conversation threads |
Source: Meta, Instagram Platform overview, checked 9 September 2026.
A sixth published number is not a messaging limit but gets quoted as one: the standard Instagram Business Use Case limit, calls within 24 hours = 4,800 × number of impressions, per app-user pair, where impressions means content views in the last 24 hours (same source, same date). It scales with how much your content is actually being seen, which is why two accounts running the same tool have different headroom.
What is the Instagram DM limit per hour, and where does "200" come from?
A figure of 200 DMs per hour is widely published as "Instagram's official hourly limit." It does not appear in Meta's Instagram Platform rate-limit documentation.
It is the most repeated number in this topic. A page ranking on page one for instagram dm limit today
states "200 DMs per hour" and attributes it to Meta directly, while linking no Meta documentation at all.
We fetched the Instagram Platform overview twice, six days apart; the five limits above are what it
publishes, and no 200-per-hour figure appears among them.
We are not claiming Meta has never written that number anywhere — it could sit in a document we have not found, and if you can point us to one we will add it here with the link. The claim is narrower and checkable: it is not on the page that publishes Instagram's messaging rate limits, and every page we found asserting it cites nothing. A number you can open a tab and verify is worth more than a number repeated by six sites.
BuzzWire paces every send to stay within the published limits above, and eases new accounts in gradually rather than starting at full speed. How BuzzWire keeps sending safe is on our compliance page — that pacing is ours, and we do not present it as Instagram's.
How many DMs can you send on Instagram per day?
Meta publishes no daily DM limit, for manual or automated sending. Every daily figure in circulation is a community estimate, and the estimates disagree. Here is what two pages currently ranking on this term claim, side by side:
| Account age | One ranking page | Another ranking page |
|---|---|---|
| New (under 30 days) | 20–50/day | 50–70/day |
| Growing (30–180 days) | not stated | 80–120/day |
| Established (180+ days) | 150–200/day | 150–200/day |
| Verified | not stated | 200–300/day |
Both pages fetched live 9 September 2026. Neither links any Meta or Instagram primary documentation; between them they cite Hootsuite, Sprout Social and their own internal guides.
The estimates are not worthless — they agree new accounts get less headroom than established ones, which is why a careful tool warms up a new account instead of opening at full volume. But a range varying by 150% at the new-account end is a rule of thumb, not a limit.
What is the Instagram direct message character limit?
Meta's Messaging API limits the text of a DM to 1,000 bytes. Its Send Messages documentation says: "Message text must be UTF-8 and be a 1000 bytes or less." (Meta for Developers, "Send Messages", updated 28 Sep 2026, checked 22 October 2026)
Bytes are not characters. In UTF-8, how many bytes a character takes depends on the character:
- Plain English letters, digits, spaces and basic punctuation: 1 byte each, so a plain-English DM fits about 1,000 characters.
- Accented Latin letters (é, ñ, ü): 2 bytes each.
- Hindi, Thai and most other non-Latin scripts: 3 bytes per character, so about 333 characters fit.
- Most emoji: 4 bytes each. Emoji with skin tones, flags and family emoji take 8 bytes or more.
So the more emoji and non-Latin script a message has, the fewer characters fit. This is the limit for messages sent through Meta's API, which is how every automation tool sends. Meta doesn't document a separate limit for DMs typed by hand in the app.
Third-party pages still quote 1,000 or 2,000 characters. The 1,000 figure is close for plain English text; nothing in Meta's documentation supports 2,000.
Guidance that holds either way: an automated first message should be short enough that the link is visible without expanding it. Front-load the thing the person asked for. To check a message, our Instagram DM character counter shows its characters and its UTF-8 bytes against the 1,000-byte limit, in the browser.
How long can an Instagram DM be in lines? Line breaks are permitted — Shift+Enter in the web composer, return on mobile — and we found no documented limit on line count.
Can you send links in Instagram DMs?
Yes. Meta's Send API explicitly lists links among the content types it supports, at 100 calls per second per professional account (source as above, checked 9 September 2026). Links in DMs are a documented capability, not a grey area.
What is not documented is how link behaviour interacts with spam classification. Widely-reported practice, undocumented:
- One link per message rather than several. Multiple links in an automated message is a pattern associated with spam filtering.
- Full URLs rather than shorteners. A shortened link obscures its destination, which is what a spam classifier exists to notice.
- New accounts sending links to people who do not follow them face the tightest filtering of anyone.
BuzzWire enforces the first two at the product level rather than leaving them to whoever writes the message — one external link per DM, URL shorteners blocked outright. That is a design decision, not a platform rule, and it sits with the rest of the sending behaviour on the features page.
How long is the Instagram messaging window?
The standard Instagram messaging window is 24 hours after the person's last message. Their message opens the window. Each new message from them restarts it. Your replies do not.
- Standard window: 24 hours. It opens when a person messages your Instagram account (source: Meta, Instagram Platform overview, checked 9 September 2026).
- Ad-started chats: up to 7 days. A person taps a Click-to-Messenger or Click-to-Instagram-Direct ad, then sends a message.
- Human agent tag: up to 7 days. Meta keeps this for support a standard window can't resolve, not for marketing.
- Everything else: 24 hours. Organic DMs, comment replies and story replies keep the standard window.
The 7-day ad window comes from Meta's Developer Policies, section 5.6.1.a. It says the window "may last up to 7 days" when a person messages you after clicking one of those ads. The page doesn't give an effective date. Third-party reports date the change to 28 September 2026.
- Primary source: Meta, Developer Policies, section 5.6.1.a, checked 22 October 2026.
- Third-party report: Spur, the 7-day messaging window for Click to Messenger and Click to Direct ads, published 7 October 2026, checked 22 October 2026.
Spur notes the 7 days count from the person's first message after tapping the ad, not from the click. BuzzWire's automations start from comments, story replies and DMs, so they work inside the 24-hour window.
What is the 7-day private-reply window?
A private reply is the one DM a business may send to someone who commented on its post. Meta allows exactly one private reply per comment, within 7 days of the comment being created.
- Applies to: comments on posts, ads posts and Reels.
- One per comment: a second message needs the person to reply first.
- Instagram Live: private replies can only be sent during the broadcast.
Source: Meta, Private Replies, checked 21 October 2026.
The consequence people miss: one comment buys you one message. Everything after depends on them replying, which is what opens the 24-hour window — which is why a well-built flow delivers the link, the context and the ask in message one, and why "reply with your size" beats "let me know if you have questions". It is also why no tool on the official API can cold-message strangers: there is no window to send into.
What happens when you hit an Instagram DM limit
Meta publishes no escalation ladder, so what follows is undocumented and drawn from consistent public reporting rather than a source we can link. In rough order: messages are delayed or silently dropped; an action block appears with a temporary freeze on sending; feature access is restricted for longer; and in sustained cases the account goes under review.
No tool can guarantee this never happens — enforcement is Meta's, and no third party controls it. What a tool can do is make the triggering patterns structurally unavailable: pace within the published rates, ramp new accounts, avoid repeating the same automation to the same person, vary wording so no two messages are identical, and always honor STOP. For the full treatment of what gets accounts flagged, see the 2026 rules post.
How to stay inside Instagram's DM limits
- Design against the published table, not the folklore. 750 private-reply calls per hour; 100 per second on the Send API for text and links.
- Send one message per comment, and make it complete. One private reply, seven days to use it. Put the link in it.
- Let their reply open the window. Ask something that needs an answer; their reply starts the 24 hours.
- Ramp a new account. Every estimate agrees new accounts have less headroom, even though none agrees on how much.
- One link, no shorteners. Undocumented, and the cheapest precaution here.
- Vary the wording. Identical text sent hundreds of times is the most machine-detectable thing an automation can do.
- Pace repeat contact. Don't send the same automation to the same person twice — while letting genuinely different requests through.
- Re-check the figures at the source on a schedule. Documentation changes without announcement — which is how every stale number on this topic started.
Instagram DM limits: quick reference
| Limit | Figure | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Private replies, posts/ads/Reels | 750 calls/hour per professional account | Published |
| Private replies, Live | 100 calls/second | Published |
| Send API, text and links | 100 calls/second | Published |
| Send API, audio and video | 10 calls/second | Published |
| Conversations API | 2 calls/second | Published |
| Business Use Case standard limit | 4,800 × impressions per 24h, per app-user pair | Published |
| Private replies per comment | Exactly 1, within 7 days | Published |
| Messaging window | 24 hours, opened by their message | Published |
| Messaging window, chat started from a Click-to-Messenger / Click-to-Instagram-Direct ad | Up to 7 days | Published (Developer Policies 5.6.1.a) |
| "200 DMs/hour" | Not found in Meta's rate-limit docs | Undocumented |
| Daily DM cap | No published figure; estimates range 20–300 | Undocumented |
| Message text limit (API) | 1,000 bytes, UTF-8 | Published |
| Line-break limit | None found | Undocumented |
FAQ
Is there an official Instagram DM limit per day? No. Meta publishes per-second and per-hour API rate limits, the 24-hour messaging window and the 7-day private-reply window, but no daily sending cap. Any daily number you see is an estimate.
Why do different tools quote different limits? Mostly because they are quoting each other. On both questions where we could compare ranking pages directly, the figures differ by 100% or more and neither page cites a primary source. Ask any vendor one question: is that number documented, and can you link it?
Do Instagram DM limits reset at midnight? No. The published limits run on rolling windows — per second, per hour, or a rolling 24 hours for the Business Use Case formula. There is no midnight reset.
Does a verified badge raise your DM limits? Not in anything Meta publishes. Community estimates suggest verified and older accounts get more headroom, but enforcement waves have affected verified accounts too.
Can automation send DMs to people who have not messaged me? Not on the official API. A private reply needs a comment; anything else needs an open 24-hour window that their message opened. A tool offering to message arbitrary strangers is not on the official API, which means it is using your login credentials — a distinction covered on our compliance page.
Does BuzzWire's free plan have a send limit? The free plan runs unlimited automations with no contact caps, and its safety pacing is identical to Pro's — you cannot pay to send faster. Details on pricing.
How is this different from ManyChat's limits? The platform limits above apply identically to every tool on the official API, ManyChat included. What differs is commercial metering — contact caps and overage billing — covered on our ManyChat comparison.
Automation that stays inside these limits by design
Official Instagram API, paced within Instagram’s limits, free to start.